The Nero Award Nominees Announced

2010 Nero Award winner Brad Parks showing this year’s nominees how it’s done!
2010 Nero Award winner Brad Parks showing this year’s nominees how it’s done!
The Wolfe Pack was founded nearly thirty-five years ago to study, analyze, and thoroughly enjoy the numerous Nero Wolfe books and novellas written by Rex Stout. Although the club is headquartered in New York City, site of Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin’s adventures radiating from the brownstone on West 35th Street, the Wolfe Pack has members world-wide.

Each year, the Wolfe Pack’s literary awards committee sifts through numerous submissions and nominates five novels for the Nero Award, which is presented annually to an author for excellence in the mystery genre in the tradition of Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe novels and stories.

The 2011 nominees are:

Ice Cold by Tess Gerritsen

The Book of Spies by Gayle Lynds

Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

The Midnight Show Murders by Al Roker

Think of a Number by John Verdon

The award will be presented at the Black Orchid Banquet, traditionally held on the first Saturday each December. Past winners of the Nero include Lee Child, Martha Grimes, Laura Lippman, Dennis Lehane, and Sharyn McCrumb.

Terrie blogs at Women of Mystery.  One of her recent short stories can be found in the anthology Crimes By Moonlight, and “For Keepsies” can be read at Beat To A Pulp webzine. 

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.