The 2022 ITW Thriller Awards: Nominees and Winners

On Saturday, June 4th, International Thriller Writers gathered for The Thrillerfest XVII Awards Banquet at the Times Square Sheraton. Here is a recap of the distinguished nominees and winners (in bold) for the 2022 Thriller Awards!

Best Hardcover Novel

Best First Novel

Best AudioBook

Best Paperback Original Novel

Best Short Story

  • “NOT MY CROSS TO BEAR” by S.A. Cosby (Down & Out Books)
  • “DEMON IN THE DEPTHS” by William Burton McCormick (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)
  • “THE LEMONADE STAND” by Scott Loring Sanders (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)
  • “THE INTERPRETER AND THE KILLER” by Jeff Soloway (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)
  • “BAD CHEMISTRY” by John Wimer (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

Best eBook Original Novel

  • THE DARK SIDE: ALEX HUNTER 9 by Greig Beck (Pan Macmillan)
  • WHERE THE WICKED TREAD by John Connell (John Connell)
  • LITTLE GIRL TAKEN by Wendy Dranfield (Bookouture)
  • BLOOD PARISH by E.J. Findorff (E.J. Findorff)
  • MOTHER MAY I by S. E. Green (S.E. Green)
  • BLUE MADAGASCAR by Andrew Kaplan (Andrew Kaplan)
  • LAST ONE ALIVE by Karin Nordin HarperCollins

Best Young Adult Novel

ITW also formally recognized the following individuals and organizations for their contributions to the Thriller community:

  • 2022 ThrillerMasters: Frederick Forsyth and Diana Gabaldon
  • 2022 Spotlight Guest: Joseph Finder
  • 2022 Spotlight Guest: Veronica Roth
  • 2022 Thriller Legend: Writers House
  • 2022 ThrillerFans: Theresa Lee and Rosie Stroy

To learn more about this year’s awards, and to get updates about future events, visit ITW’s website at See you there next year!


  1. Zoya Khan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.