MWA Announces New Grand Masters, Raven and Ellery Queen Award Winners

This week, Mystery Writers of America gave us a preview of the criminal luminaries who will be feted during 2013’s Edgars Week:

Ken Follett and Margaret Maron have been chosen as this year’s Grand Masters by Mystery Writers of America (MWA). MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality. Mr. Follett and Ms. Maron will be presented with their awards at the Edgar Awards Banquet, which will be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on Thursday, May 2, 2013.

Excellent choices! As are MWA’s selections honoring the outstanding achievements of a mystery bookstore and an individual supporting the genre. The Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore (locations in San Diego and Redondo Beach, California) and journalist Oline Cogdill will receive Raven Awards. Last, but never least, the Ellery Queen Award is given to an editor or publisher for distinguished support of the genre, and this year’s honoree is Johnny Temple, founder of Akashic Books.

Congratulations to all! We can hardly wait for the celebration!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *