Nominees and Winners of the 2013 CWA Dagger Awards!

CWA logoThe Crime Writers’ Association announced the shortlists for the remaining three CWA 2013 Daggers. The winners will be announced October 24th, at the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2013.



The shortlisted authors are:

Goldsboro Gold Dagger:
Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
Dead Lions by Mick Herron
Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger:
Ghostman by Roger Hobbs
Ratlines by Stuart Neville
The Sentinel by Mark Oldfield
Capital Punishment by Robert Wilson

John Creasey Dagger:
Something You Are by Hanna Jameson
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay
Norwegian by Night by Derek B. Miller
Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford

We'd also like to correct our omission of the winners of the previous six CWA Dagger Awards for 2013, announced earlier this year:

International Dagger: an unprecedented tie for Ghost Riders of Ordebec by Fred Vargas, translated by Siân Reynolds, and Alex by Pierre Lemaitre, translated by Frank Wynne

Non-Fiction Dagger: Midnight in Peking by Paul French

Library Dagger: Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer

Short Story Dagger:  “Come Away with Me” by Stella Duffy

Debut Dagger: Call Time by Finn Clarke

Ellis Peters Historical Dagger: The Scent of Death by Andrew Taylor

And don't forget to look at their Margery Allingham Short Story Competition for previously unpublished works, which is also open to writers outside the U.K., although you may have to keep their time zones in mind.

Congratulations to the nominees!

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger