2017 Derringer Award Winners

Monday, the Short Mystery Fiction Society announced the winners of the 2017 Derringer Awards. The Derringer Awards honor excellence in short mystery fiction of varying lengths (up to 20,000 words). Below is a list of all of this year's winners.

Best Flash Story (1 – 1,000 words)

“The Phone Call” by Herschel Cozine, Flash Bang Mysteries

Best Short Story (1,001 – 4,000 words)

“The Way They Do It in Boston” by Linda Barnes, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Best Long Story (4,001 – 8,000 words)

“Breadcrumbs” by Victoria Weisfeld, Betty Fedora: Kickass Women In Crime Fiction, Issue 3

Best Novelette (8,000 – 20,000 words)

“Inquiry and Assistance” by Terrie Farley Moran, Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine

Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer

Robert Randisi

Thanks to all that attended, and congratulations to all of the winners!


  1. Terrie Farley Moran

    Thanks so much for announcing the Derringer Awards to all the short story fans here at Criminal Element.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *