The Edgar Awards Revisited: 1984

An account of the women in Narco Noir and the various roles they play in both real life and fiction.

Introducing Case Closed: Your Next True Crime Podcast Binge

Cooking the Books: A Killer Edition by Lorna Barrett

Tricia Miles is the owner of vintage mystery bookstore Haven’t Got a Clue, but since promoting her assistant, Pixie Poe, to assistant manager, she has found herself at a loose end as Pixie enthusiastically and capably takes over her responsibilities. Deciding to make good use of her years of experience… Read more

The Hit by Nadia Dalbuono

Book Review: The Hit by Nadia Dalbuono

In The Hit, the investigation of a hit-and-run in Rome leads Detective Leone Scamarcio on a deadly journey to confront his Mafia past. Detective Leone Scamarcio is in a jam. While still a teenager, he left Calabria and the ‘Ndrangheta he grew up in, encouraged by his grieving mother after… Read more

Book Review: Singapore Sapphire by A. M. Stuart

Singapore Sapphire by A. M. Stuart is the first book in the new Harriet Gordon Mystery series set in early 20th-century Singapore, where Gordon and Inspector Robert Curran must suss out a murdering secretive gang before they themselves become the next victims. I’ll admit that when I first started reading… Read more

The Whisper Man by Alex North

Book Review: The Whisper Man by Alex North

The Whisper Man by Alex North is a multi-generational thriller about a father and son caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town. It’s been 20 years since DI Pete Willis caught a killer that was responsible for the death of… Read more

Book Review: The Cold Way Home by Julia Keller

In The Cold Way Home by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Julia Keller, readers return to West Virginia and sleuth Bell Elkins who investigates Wellwood, a state-run psychiatric hospital for the poor that burned to the ground decades ago. Bell Elkins, Nick Fogelsong and Jake Oakes take on a case of a… Read more

Book Review: A Dangerous Man by Robert Crais

A Dangerous Man is a brilliant new crime novel from the beloved, bestselling, and award-winning master of the genre, Robert Crais, and the 18th book in the Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series. Robert Crais is back with another installment in the Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series, and he’s… Read more

What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr: A Visual Guide

What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr is a gripping standalone where a grandmother in her 60s emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare—take a visual tour with GIFnotes! Rose Dennis wakes up in a hospital gown, her brain in a fog, only to discover… Read more

The Edgar Awards Revisited: The Suspect by L. R. Wright (Best Novel; 1986)

The first Canadian winner of the Edgar for Best Novel features, perhaps stereotypically, features a Mountie and a librarian politely declining to discuss a murder where they both know whodunnit. The Mountie is Staff Sergeant Karl Alberg, a divorced forty-something who misses his daughters back in Calgary but has no… Read more

Book Review: The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan. Rachel North is not your average law student. For starters, she is far older than most of her classmates and married to a prestigious… Read more

City of Windows by Robert Pobi

Book Review: City of Windows by Robert Pobi

During the worst blizzard in memory, an FBI agent in a moving SUV in New York City is killed by a nearly impossible sniper shot. Unable to pinpoint where the shot came from, the FBI turns to the one man who might be able to help them—former FBI agent Lucas… Read more