The Edgar Awards Revisited: 1984

An account of the women in Narco Noir and the various roles they play in both real life and fiction.

Introducing Case Closed: Your Next True Crime Podcast Binge

Book Review: The Spotted Dog by Kerry Greenwood

The Spotted Dog by Kerry Greenwood is the seventh book in the Corinna Chapman Mystery series. When a military veteran comes to Corinna’s bakery, Earthly Delights, in search of his missing dog, Corinna and Daniel try to reclaim the missing pup while steering clear of the drug runners who set everything in motion. To enter…

The Edgar Awards Revisited: Black Cherry Blues by James Lee Burke (Best Novel; 1990)

Published in 1989, James Lee Burke’s Black Cherry Blues was the first of his two books to win the Edgar Award for Best Novel (his other came in 1998 for Cimarron Rose). It is the third in Burke’s signature series starring Detective Dave Robicheaux, a recovering alcoholic and Vietnam War veteran from New Iberia, Louisiana.…

One Night Gone by Tara Laskowski: A Visual Guide

One Night Gone by Tara Laskowski is a gripping thriller about a 30-year-old disappearance and the dark secrets unearthed while searching for the truth—take a visual tour with GIFnotes! It was the perfect place to disappear… One sultry summer, Maureen Haddaway arrives in the wealthy town of Opal Beach to start her life anew—to achieve…

DNA: Surprising Dangers and Abuses for Great Storytelling

Skeptical about DNA testing and family ancestry tests? Colleen Coble has you beat. Join Colleen, author of Strands of Truth, as she lists inventive story ideas involving the potential misuse and abuse of DNA data. You may want to think twice before spitting in that cup… Test your DNA and find out who you really are.…

Book Review: A Dangerous Engagement by Ashley Weaver

A Dangerous Engagement is the stylish, charming sixth novel in the Edgar-nominated Amory Ames mystery series by Ashley Weaver, set in 1930s New York. There were four or five shots fired in rapid succession followed by a moment of deafening silence.   I jumped up from the bed, but Milo had beaten me to it,…

Book Review: Vendetta in Death by J.D. Robb

Lieutenant Eve Dallas must keep the predator from becoming the prey in Vendetta in Death, the newest thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author J.D. Robb. Vendetta in Death is futuristic fiction that casts a light on the #MeToo movement. Robb’s 49th “In Death” thriller introduces Lady Justice, a murderous vigilante who targets…

Book Review: See That My Grave Is Kept Clean by Bart Paul

Bart Paul’s See That My Grave Is Kept Clean is a mix-up of Western and mystery with a taciturn hero and a twisting plot, wrapped in lived-in details. Fans of James Lee Burke and Craig Johnson should take note of this third installment of the Tommy Smith High Country Noir series. The latest by Bart…

The Five Most Surprising Facts about the Brontë Family

Join Bella Ellis—author of The Vanished Bride, the first book in the Brontë Sisters Mystery series—as she uncovers some fascinating facts about the famous literary sisters we thought we knew so well. Read through and comment on this post to enter for a chance to win a copy of The Vanished Bride. I have always…

Book Review: Life Is Short and Then you Die edited by Kelley Armstrong

Life Is Short and Then You Die is the Mystery Writers of America’s first teen anthology, edited by #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong.  Short stories aren’t easy to write. I wrote my first short story in Killer Year, an anthology edited by Lee Child, published more than a decade ago. It was one of the…

Book Review: The Catholic School by Edoardo Albinati

The Catholic School by Edoardo Albinati is a semiautobiographical coming-of-age story, framed by the harrowing 1975 Circeo massacre—a brutal torturing and rape of two young women in 1975 at the hands of former students of Rome’s prestigious all-boys Catholic high school San Leone Magno. Weighing in at over 1,200 pages, Edoardo Albinati’s The Catholic School