The Edgar Awards Revisited: 1984

An account of the women in Narco Noir and the various roles they play in both real life and fiction.

Introducing Case Closed: Your Next True Crime Podcast Binge

What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr: A Visual Guide

What Rose Forgot by Nevada Barr is a gripping standalone where a grandmother in her 60s emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare—take a visual tour with GIFnotes! Rose Dennis wakes up in a hospital gown, her brain in a fog, only to discover… Read more

The Edgar Awards Revisited: The Suspect by L. R. Wright (Best Novel; 1986)

The first Canadian winner of the Edgar for Best Novel features, perhaps stereotypically, features a Mountie and a librarian politely declining to discuss a murder where they both know whodunnit. The Mountie is Staff Sergeant Karl Alberg, a divorced forty-something who misses his daughters back in Calgary but has no… Read more

Book Review: The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan. Rachel North is not your average law student. For starters, she is far older than most of her classmates and married to a prestigious… Read more

City of Windows by Robert Pobi

Book Review: City of Windows by Robert Pobi

During the worst blizzard in memory, an FBI agent in a moving SUV in New York City is killed by a nearly impossible sniper shot. Unable to pinpoint where the shot came from, the FBI turns to the one man who might be able to help them—former FBI agent Lucas… Read more

The Strange and Creepy Things Children Say

When I was a kid, I watched a documentary about reincarnation. There was a little girl featured in it, and based on things she’d said, her parents were convinced she had lived past lives. I watched her visiting old houses and cemeteries, the whole time telling seemingly impossible tales of… Read more

Book Review: The Victim by Max Manning

In Max Manning’s The Victim, Gem Golding is ambushed by a stranger with a knife in an empty parking garage. Now part of the creep’s twisted game, Gem must choose—surrender or fight. If you love fast-paced thrillers and are looking for something a little different, The Victim may be just… Read more

Book Review: A Crafter Hooks a Killer by Holly Quinn

Sammy Kane is busy getting ready for the arrival of superstar crafter and author Jane Johnson in her sleepy hometown of Heartsford, Wisconsin. As the owner of the town’s Community Craft store—which she inherited under tragic circumstances after her best friend, the original owner, died in a freak accident—she’s excited… Read more

The Retreat by Sherri Smith

Book Review: The Retreat by Sherri Smith

The Retreat by Sherri Smith illuminates the dark side of the self-care and wellness industry in a thrilling ride of revenge that asks: how well do you really know your friends?

The Extinction Agenda by Michael Laurence

The Extinction Agenda: New Excerpt

An FBI agent fights to stop a conspiracy to unleash a deadly virus on the world in this propulsive, exhilarating new thriller. The discovery of a deadly virus being smuggled across the border pits FBI Special Agent James Mason and his strike force against an unknown adversary hell-bent on humanity’s… Read more

Review: The Twice-Hanged Man by Priscilla Royal

The Twice-Hanged Man by Priscilla Royal is the 15th book in the Medieval Mysteries series, where bodies are turning up and the only suspect is the supposed ghost of a man hanged twice. Prioress Eleanor already has plenty on her plate—having just escorted her brother Robert and his pregnant wife,… Read more