The 2012 Macavity Award Nominees Are Here!

Macavity Award
The Macavity is named for the mystery cat in TS Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Magical Cats.
Sure, we told you about the ITW International Thriller award nominees, but what if you prefer mysteries?  Well, check out this list! The Macavity Awards are for mystery readers, voted on by members and supporters of Mystery Readers International and subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal. Winners will be announced at Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, in October, in Cleveland, Ohio, and will be presented at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Want to be there? Don’t forget to enter our Bouchercon registration sweepstakes!

Best Mystery Novel:

  • 1222 by Anne Holt, translated by Marlaine Delargy
  • Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead by Sara Gran
  • The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz
  • The Ridge by Michael Koryta
  • A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny
  • The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey
  • Hell & Gone by Duane Swierczynski

Best First Mystery Novel

  • Learning to Swim by Sara J. Henry
  • Nazareth Child by Darrell James
  • Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante
  • All Cry Chaos by Leonard Rosen
  • The Informationist by Taylor Stevens
  • Before I Go To Sleep by S. J. Watson

Best Mystery-Related Nonfiction

  • Books, Crooks and Counselors: How to Write Accurately About Criminal Law and Courtroom Procedure by Leslie Budewitz
  • Agatha Christie: Murder in the Making: More Stories and Secrets from Her Notebooks by John Curran
  • Wilkie Collins, Vera Caspary, and the Evolution of the Casebook Novel by A.B. Emrys
  • The Savage City: Race, Murder, and a Generation on the Edge by T.J. English
  • The Sookie Stackhouse Companion by Charlaine Harris

Best Mystery Short Story

  • “Disarming” by Dana Cameron (EQMM, June 2011)
  • “Facts Exhibiting Wantonness” by Trina Corey (EQMM, Nov. 2011)
  • “Palace by the Lake” by Daryl Wood Gerber (Fish Tales: The Guppy Anthology, Wildside Press)
  • “Truth and Consequences” by Barb Goffman (Mystery Times Ten, Buddhapuss Ink)
  • “Heat of Passion” by Kathleen Ryan (A Twist of Noir, Feb. 14, 2011)
  • “The Man Who Took His Hat Off to the Driver of the Train” by Peter Turnbull (EQMM, March/April 2011)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award

Hat tip: Mystery Fanfare


  1. Deborah Lacy

    What a great list! More for the reading pile. Congratulations to all of the nominees.

  2. Sara J. Henry

    Maybe I misinterpreted this, but I believe the Macavity Awards started in 1987, and have been awarded annually since then.

  3. Laura K. Curtis

    Sorry, Sara, I misread the source material. Fixed now! Thanks!

  4. Kerry

    I love to see new names, then I have new authors to read!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *