results for tag:
Review
Showing all CriminalElement.com content using the tag "Review" including series, stories, blog posts, and users. To browse published posts on the front page, click here.
|
dvaleris
January 31 2018

Review: Killed in Action by Michael Sloan

Creator of The Equalizer TV series, Michael Sloan reinvents the story of the mysterious Robert McCall—a former intelligence officer who helps desperate people in need of his unique skill set—in...
Allison_Brennan
January 30 2018

Review: Dark in Death by J. D. Robb

Lieutenant Eve Dallas returns to take on a case of death imitating art in Dark in Death, New York Times bestselling master of suspense J. D. Robb's 46th In Death novel (available January 30, 2018). Read...
JanetWebb
January 30 2018

Review: Breaking Point by Allison Brennan

Breaking Point by Allison Brennan is the 13th book in the Lucy Kincaid series. Check out our entire reread of Allison Brennan's Lucy Kincaid series and Max Revere series! Why has San Antonio-based...
MeghanHarker
January 29 2018

Review: The Burial Society by Nina Sadowsky

The Burial Society by Nina Sadowsky is a psychological thriller of obsession and betrayal that follows a woman running from a dark past and stumbling upon a tangled nest of seductions and secrets (available...
dvaleris
January 29 2018

Review: The Grave’s a Fine and Private Place by Alan Bradley

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place by Alan Bradley is the ninth book in the Flavia de Luce series. This is how much I enjoy Flavia de Luce: I’m not sure that I like her better now than...
dvaleris
January 26 2018

Review: Now We Are Dead by Stuart MacBride

From Stuart MacBride, the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author of the Logan McRae series, comes Now We Are Dead—a standalone spinoff featuring DS Roberta Steel (available in hardcover on January...
ArdiAlspach
January 25 2018

Waco: “Visions and Omens” Episode Review

Cults, their followers, and their ultimate spectacular ends have captured public imagination for decades, but only one cult met their tragic end as publicly as David Koresh and his followers in...
RichardZSantos
January 25 2018

Review: Into the Black Nowhere by Meg Gardiner

Into the Black Nowhere by Meg Gardiner is the second book in the Unsub series, an exhilarating thriller inspired by real-life serial killer Ted Bundy, where FBI profiler Caitlin Hendrix faces off against...
JakeHinkson
January 24 2018

Review: The Grand Banks Café by Georges Simenon

The Grand Banks Café by Georges Simenon is the eighth book in the Inspector Maigret series, a gripping novel set in an insular fishing community. There’s a subgenre of mystery fiction...
ArdiAlspach
January 23 2018

Review: A Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn

A Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn is the third book in the Veronica Speedwell series, where members of an Egyptian expedition fall victim to an ancient mummy’s curse. Deanna Raybourn’s...
dvaleris
January 23 2018

Review: Her Beautiful Monster by Adi Tantimedh

Her Beautiful Monster by Adi Tantimedh is the second book in the Ravi PI series, where Ravi ends up on the run in Los Angeles with a car full of stolen guns, chased by killers as the city is surrounded...
JanetWebb
January 23 2018

Review: Need to Know by Karen Cleveland

Need to Know by Karen Cleveland follows CIA Analyst Vivian Miller, who uncovers a dangerous secret in pursuit of a Russian sleeper cell on American soil that will threaten her job, her family—and...
DeborahLacy
January 22 2018

Review: Hidden Depths by Ann Cleeves

Now available in the U.S., Hidden Depths is the third book in Diamond Dagger award-winning crime novelist Ann Cleeves’s Vera Stanhope series, brought to life in the hit TV series Vera (available...
MyBookishWays
January 22 2018

Review: In a Cottage In a Wood by Cass Green

In a Cottage In a Wood by Cass Green is a dark and twisty psychological thriller from the No. 1 ebook bestselling author of The Woman Next Door (available January 23, 2018). 30-year-old Neve Carey...
LanceC
January 18 2018

Spear Phishing in the Desert: Harpoon: Inside the Covert War Against Terrorism’s Money Masters by Nitsana Darshan-Leitner & Samuel M. Katz

Harpoon: Inside the Covert War against Terrorism’s Money Masters by Nitsana Darshan-Leitner & Samuel M. Katz is a revelatory account of the cloak-and-dagger Israeli campaign to target the...
AngieBarry
January 18 2018

Review: Light It Up by Nick Petrie

Light It Up by Nick Petrie is the third thriller starring war veteran Peter Ash, where a well-planned and flawlessly executed hijacking reveals the hidden dangers of Colorado's mellowest business,...
DavidCranmer
January 17 2018

Review: Jack Waters by Scott Adlerberg

Jack Waters by Scott Adlerberg is a historical thriller set in 1904 about an American guy from New Orleans—a poker player and fugitive murderer—who joins a Caribbean island revolution for...
jenny_maloney
January 16 2018

Review: The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur

The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur explores the heart and mystery of Big Sky Country in this evocative and atmospheric novel of family, home, love, and responsibility inspired by William...
LanceC
January 15 2018

Review: The Night Market by Jonathan Moore

The Night Market by Jonathan Moore is a mind-bending, masterfully plotted near-future thriller that makes your most paranoid fantasies seem like child’s play (available January 16, 2018). What’s...
GabinoIglesias
January 11 2018

Review: The Chalk Man by C. J. Tudor

The Chalk Man by C. J. Tudor is a riveting and relentlessly compelling psychological suspense debut that weaves a mystery about a childhood game gone dangerously awry and keeps readers guessing right...
JanetWebb
January 11 2018

Review: Two Girls Down by Louisa Luna

As addictive, cinematic, and binge-worthy a narrative as The Wire and The Killing, Two Girls Down introduces Louisa Luna as a thriller writer of immense talent and verve. Fair warning: set aside...
JakeHinkson
January 10 2018

Review: Maigret, Lognon and the Gangsters by Georges Simenon

Maigret, Lognon and the Gangsters by Georges Simenon is the 39th book in the Maigret series, where Maigret goes up against a group of American gangsters and finds he just might have met his match. Maigret,...
JanetWebb
January 9 2018

Review: Darkness, Sing Me a Song by David Housewright

David Housewright’s Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family in Darkness, Sing Me a Song. How...
Chris.Wolak
January 9 2018

Review: The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds,...
BrianGreene
January 8 2018

Crimes Against Film: Argoman, the Fantastic Superman (1967)

I’ve been writing a series of posts on Criterion Collection film releases for this site. Some of the Criterion titles I’ve covered have been things like campy romps and low-budget oddities,...
dvaleris
January 8 2018

Review: A Reckoning in the Back Country by Terry Shames

A Reckoning in the Back Country by Terry Shames is the seventh book in the Samuel Craddock Mystery series, where acting Police Chief Samuel Craddock investigates the murder of a visiting physician,...
MyBookishWays
January 8 2018

Review: The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage—and the dangerous truths we ignore in the...
JanetWebb
January 5 2018

Review: Death Below Stairs by Jennifer Ashley

In Death Below Stairs by Jennifer Ashley, Victorian class lines are crossed as cook Kat Holloway is drawn into a murder that reaches all the way to the throne. Death Below Stairs is the first full...
JanetWebb
January 4 2018

Review: Scones and Scoundrels by Molly MacRae

Scones and Scoundrels by Molly MacRae is the second book in the Highland Bookshop Mystery series, which brings together a body outside a pub, a visiting author determined to find the killer, and a murderously...
MyBookishWays
January 4 2018

Review: Don’t Look for Me by Mason Cross

Don’t Look For Me by Mason Cross is a nail-biting new thriller—perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne—about the desperate hunt for a woman who has a secret...