results for tag:
Review
Showing all CriminalElement.com content using the tag "Review" including series, stories, blog posts, and users. To browse published posts on the front page, click here.
|
LanceC
January 18 2018

Spear Phishing in the Desert: Harpoon: Inside the Covert War Against Terrorism’s Money Masters by Nitsana Darshan-Leitner & Samuel M. Katz

Harpoon: Inside the Covert War against Terrorism’s Money Masters by Nitsana Darshan-Leitner & Samuel M. Katz is a revelatory account of the cloak-and-dagger Israeli campaign to target the...
AngieBarry
January 18 2018

Review: Light It Up by Nick Petrie

Light It Up by Nick Petrie is the third thriller starring war veteran Peter Ash, where a well-planned and flawlessly executed hijacking reveals the hidden dangers of Colorado's mellowest business,...
DavidCranmer
January 17 2018

Review: Jack Waters by Scott Adlerberg

Jack Waters by Scott Adlerberg is a historical thriller set in 1904 about an American guy from New Orleans—a poker player and fugitive murderer—who joins a Caribbean island revolution for...
jenny_maloney
January 16 2018

Review: The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur

The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur explores the heart and mystery of Big Sky Country in this evocative and atmospheric novel of family, home, love, and responsibility inspired by William...
LanceC
January 15 2018

Review: The Night Market by Jonathan Moore

The Night Market by Jonathan Moore is a mind-bending, masterfully plotted near-future thriller that makes your most paranoid fantasies seem like child’s play (available January 16, 2018). What’s...
GabinoIglesias
January 11 2018

Review: The Chalk Man by C. J. Tudor

The Chalk Man by C. J. Tudor is a riveting and relentlessly compelling psychological suspense debut that weaves a mystery about a childhood game gone dangerously awry and keeps readers guessing right...
JanetWebb
January 11 2018

Review: Two Girls Down by Louisa Luna

As addictive, cinematic, and binge-worthy a narrative as The Wire and The Killing, Two Girls Down introduces Louisa Luna as a thriller writer of immense talent and verve. Fair warning: set aside...
JakeHinkson
January 10 2018

Review: Maigret, Lognon and the Gangsters by Georges Simenon

Maigret, Lognon and the Gangsters by Georges Simenon is the 39th book in the Maigret series, where Maigret goes up against a group of American gangsters and finds he just might have met his match. Maigret,...
JanetWebb
January 9 2018

Review: Darkness, Sing Me a Song by David Housewright

David Housewright’s Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family in Darkness, Sing Me a Song. How...
Chris.Wolak
January 9 2018

Review: The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds,...
BrianGreene
January 8 2018

Crimes Against Film: Argoman, the Fantastic Superman (1967)

I’ve been writing a series of posts on Criterion Collection film releases for this site. Some of the Criterion titles I’ve covered have been things like campy romps and low-budget oddities,...
dvaleris
January 8 2018

Review: A Reckoning in the Back Country by Terry Shames

A Reckoning in the Back Country by Terry Shames is the seventh book in the Samuel Craddock Mystery series, where acting Police Chief Samuel Craddock investigates the murder of a visiting physician,...
MyBookishWays
January 8 2018

Review: The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage—and the dangerous truths we ignore in the...
JanetWebb
January 5 2018

Review: Death Below Stairs by Jennifer Ashley

In Death Below Stairs by Jennifer Ashley, Victorian class lines are crossed as cook Kat Holloway is drawn into a murder that reaches all the way to the throne. Death Below Stairs is the first full...
JanetWebb
January 4 2018

Review: Scones and Scoundrels by Molly MacRae

Scones and Scoundrels by Molly MacRae is the second book in the Highland Bookshop Mystery series, which brings together a body outside a pub, a visiting author determined to find the killer, and a murderously...
MyBookishWays
January 4 2018

Review: Don’t Look for Me by Mason Cross

Don’t Look For Me by Mason Cross is a nail-biting new thriller—perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne—about the desperate hunt for a woman who has a secret...
ThomasPluck
January 2 2018

Review: Robicheaux by James Lee Burke

James Lee Burke’s most beloved character, Dave Robicheaux, returns in Robicheaux—a gritty, atmospheric mystery set in the towns and backwoods of Louisiana. My favorite James Lee Burke...
JanetWebb
January 2 2018

Review: Promise Not to Tell by Jayne Ann Krentz

A broken promise reveals a terrifying legacy in Promise Not to Tell, the second book in the Cutler, Sutter & Salinas series by Jayne Ann Krentz. Promise Not to Tell opens in a troubling...
JBValeri
January 2 2018

Review: A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis

A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis is the first book in the Searchers series—a race-against-time thriller where FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself in order to save a missing girl. The...
BrianBandell
December 22 2017

Review: Death at Nuremberg by W.E.B. Griffin and William E. Butterworth IV

Death at Nuremberg by W.E.B. Griffin and William E. Butterworth IV follows a crafty American soldier caught between scheming Russians and secretive Nazis in post-World War II Germany in the fourth novel...
DanielleAntosz
December 21 2017

Review: The Girl in Times Square by Paullina Simons

The Girl in Times Square by international bestselling author Paullina Simons delivers a riveting novel about a young woman whose search for her missing friend turns into a life-shattering odyssey. It...
PeterFoy
December 19 2017

Review: Thelma (2017)

Although mankind would like to think that they have free will throughout their life, there is the inarguable fact that one has absolutely no control over their upbringing. We are brought into this...
DavidCranmer
December 18 2017

Longmire 6:10, Series Finale: “Goodbye Is Always Implied” Episode Review

Crow Medicine Woman Marilyn Yarlott (Tantoo Cardinal) visits Longmire (Robert Taylor) with a tempting offer: to take him to Malachi Strand (Graham Greene). She compares Malachi to a Japanese bark...
DavidCranmer
December 15 2017

Longmire 6:09: “Running Eagle Challenge” Episode Review

Vic (Katee Sackhoff) is learning there is often no such thing as closure. After going to a support group and seeing a woman who, rightfully so, is still crying over a lost child a year later, she...
DaveRichards
December 13 2017

Marvel’s The Punisher Season 1 Review: Episodes 11-13

Hello, and welcome back to my look at the first Marvel/Netflix spin-off, The Punisher, which continues the blood-soaked and bullet-riddled journey of the Jon Bernthal-played title character who...
DavidCranmer
December 13 2017

Longmire 6:08: “Cowboy Bill” Episode Review

The spavined storyline of Longmire vs. Nighthorse continues. Nighthorse (A Martinez) wants to stay out of the prison population, preferring solitary confinement where the long reach of Malachi...
MyBookishWays
December 12 2017

Review: Killman Creek by Rachel Caine

Every time Gwen closed her eyes, she saw him in her nightmares. Now her eyes are open, and he’s not going away. Killman Creek by Rachel Caine is the second book in the Stillhouse Lake series. I’m...
BrianGreene
December 12 2017

Review: Le Samourai (1967)

1967 was the year of the Summer of Love, but during that year, French filmmaker Jean-Pierre Melville (1917-73) put together and released a movie that couldn’t have been more removed from...
DaveRichards
December 12 2017

Review: One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning by David Moody

In One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning, David Moody returns to the world of his Hater trilogy with a new fast-paced and wonderfully dark story about humanity’s fight for survival in the face of...
ArdiAlspach
December 11 2017

Review: The Ninth Grave by Stefan Ahnhem

Would you kill for the one you love? That's the question that international bestseller Stefan Ahnhem's The Ninth Grave: A Fabian Risk Novel seeks to answer in this spine-tingling thriller set...