Are Your Spidey Senses Tingling? The Spinetingler Award Winners Are Here!

Donald Ray Pollack, The Devil All The TimeOne of coolest things about the Spinetingler Awards is the recognition that there’s not just one great book a year and that comparing relative newcomers to the field to legends is a tough bet. Thus the categories of “New Voice” (those who have published 1-3 books), “Rising Star” (4-8 books) and “Legend” (9+ books). We told you about the Spinetingler nominees back in March, and yesterday the winners were announced. Congratulations to all on a fine job!



Best Novel: New Voice
The Devil All the Time by Donald Ray Pollock

Best Novel: Rising Star
All the Young Warriors by Anthony Neil Smith

Best Novel: Legend
A Drop of the Hard Stuff by Lawrence Block

Best Short Story Collection
Volt by Alan Heathcock

Best Anthology
Beat to a Pulp: Hardboiled edited by David Cranmer & Scott D. Parker

Best Mystery/Crime Comic or Graphic Novel
— 99 Days by Matteo Casali & Kristian Donaldson

Best Crime Fiction Publisher
— New Pulp Press

David Thompson Community Leader Award
Musings of an All Purpose Monkey (Elizabeth White)

Best Zine
Crime factory

Best Short Story on the Web
— “Either Way it Ends with a Shovel” by David Jones Keaton from Crimefactory (link is to a pdf of the full issue)

Best Cover
Noir at the Bar

and last, but definitely not least…

The Fireball Award for Best Opening Line
— “This is Detroit, so welcome to the jungle.” from In Nine Kinds of Pain by Leonard Fritz

Again, congratulations to all and may you keep our spines a-tingle for years to come!

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.