thriller: All Posts | default | Original Stories | Excerpts | Blogs

Whether the world is at stake or it’s just another day in Chinatown, Jake, these stories are about dark deeds, suspense, and the adrenaline rush.

<i>The Walking Dead</i> Power Rankings 8.03: “Monsters”
Blogs
November 6 2017

The Walking Dead Power Rankings 8.03: “Monsters”

Adam Wagner, Joe Brosnan and Pritpaul Bains
“Monsters” was by far the best episode of a young Season 8. The apt plurality of...
Review: <i>Bonfire</i> by Krysten Ritter
Blogs
November 6 2017

Review: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Ardi Alspach
Bonfire by Krysten Ritter is a gripping, tightly wound suspense novel about a woman forced to confront...
Review: <i>Joe Ledger: Unstoppable</i>, Edited by Jonathan Maberry & Bryan Thomas Schmidt
Blogs
November 3 2017

Review: Joe Ledger: Unstoppable, Edited by Jonathan Maberry & Bryan Thomas Schmidt

Kristin Centorcelli
Joe Ledger: Unstoppable, edited by Jonathan Maberry and Bryan Thomas Schmidt, is an original collection...
Q&A with Todd Merer, Author of <i>The Extraditionist</i>
Blogs
November 2 2017

Q&A with Todd Merer, Author of The Extraditionist

Todd Merer and John Valeri
Todd Merer is the debut author of The Extraditionist. In his thirty years as a criminal attorney,...
Discount: <i>How the Light Gets In</i> by Louise Penny
Blogs
November 2 2017

Discount: How the Light Gets In by Louise Penny

Crime HQ
One of Publishers Weekly's Best Mystery/Thriller Books of 2013, one of The Washington Post's...
5 New Police Procedurals to Heat Up Your Winter
Blogs
November 2 2017

5 New Police Procedurals to Heat Up Your Winter

Carrie Smith
Read Carrie Smith's exclusive guest post about her 5 favorite upcoming police procedurals,...
Arnaldur Indridason Excerpt: <i>The Shadow District</i>
Excerpts
November 2 2017

Arnaldur Indridason Excerpt: The Shadow District

Arnaldur Indridason
A deeply compassionate story of old crimes and their consequences, The Shadow District is the first...
Review: <i>The Extraditionist</i> by Todd Merer
Blogs
November 1 2017

Review: The Extraditionist by Todd Merer

Kristin Centorcelli
The Extraditionist by Todd Merer is the first book in the Benn Bluestone Thriller series.  Drug...
5 New Books to Read this Week: October 31, 2017
Blogs
November 1 2017

5 New Books to Read this Week: October 31, 2017

Crime HQ
Every Wednesday, we here at Criminal Element will put together a list of Staff Picks of the books...
Review: <i>World Enough</i> by Clea Simon
Blogs
November 1 2017

Review: World Enough by Clea Simon

Thomas Pluck
World Enough is an intriguing, hard-hitting, intricately-plotted mystery set in Boston’s...
Brett Archibald Excerpt: <i>Alone: Lost Overboard in the Indian Ocean</i>
Excerpts
November 1 2017

Brett Archibald Excerpt: Alone: Lost Overboard in the Indian Ocean

Brett Archibald
Alone: Lost Overboard in the Indian Ocean by Brett Archibald is an autobiographical narrative...
Vote for Your Favorite Kid from <i>Stranger Things</i>
Blogs
October 31 2017

Vote for Your Favorite Kid from Stranger Things

Crime HQ
  See also: Stranger Things, It, and the Rise of Nostalgia Horror
Q&A with David Freed, Author of <i>The Kill Circle</i>
Blogs
October 31 2017

Q&A with David Freed, Author of The Kill Circle

David Freed and John Valeri
David Freed is the author of the critically acclaimed Cordell Logan mystery series. An instrument-rated...
Mark Frost Excerpt: <i>Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier</i>
Excerpts
October 31 2017

Mark Frost Excerpt: Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier

Mark Frost
Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier by Mark Frost is the crucial sequel to the New York Times bestselling...
<i>The Walking Dead</i> Power Rankings 8.02: “The Damned”
Blogs
October 30 2017

The Walking Dead Power Rankings 8.02: “The Damned”

Adam Wagner, Joe Brosnan and Pritpaul Bains
LLLLLLLLET'S GET READY TO RUUUUMBLEEEEE! After what felt like an eternity of setup, The...
Q&A with Linwood Barclay, Author of <i>Parting Shot</i>
Blogs
October 30 2017

Q&A with Linwood Barclay, Author of Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay and John Valeri
Linwood Barclay is the critically acclaimed New York Times and #1 international bestselling...
Crime/Mystery/Thrillers Coming to (and Leaving) Netflix in November 2017
Blogs
October 30 2017

Crime/Mystery/Thrillers Coming to (and Leaving) Netflix in November 2017

Crime HQ
Highlighted by the highly anticipated final season of Longmire and the long-awaited Punisher...
<i>The Deuce</i> Season Finale, 1.08: “My Name Is Ruby” Episode Review
Blogs
October 30 2017

The Deuce Season Finale, 1.08: “My Name Is Ruby” Episode Review

Thomas Pluck
Take what comes. But show no ambition. Sandra learns that corruption and power are perpetual...
K. Ancrum Excerpt: <i>The Wicker King</i>
Excerpts
October 28 2017

K. Ancrum Excerpt: The Wicker King

K. Ancrum
The Wicker King by K. Ancrum is a psychological young-adult thriller that touches on themes...
Q&A with Kate White, Author of <i>Even If It Kills Her</i>
Blogs
October 27 2017

Q&A with Kate White, Author of Even If It Kills Her

Kate White and John Valeri
Kate White is the New York Times bestselling author of the Bailey Weggins series as well as the...
<i>Stranger Things</i>, <i>It</i>, and the Rise of Nostalgia Horror
Blogs
October 27 2017

Stranger Things, It, and the Rise of Nostalgia Horror

Angie Barry
According to innumerable think-pieces—and I use the term with the utmost sarcasm—Millennials...
Q&A with Tom Straw, Author of <i>Buzz Killer</i>
Blogs
October 26 2017

Q&A with Tom Straw, Author of Buzz Killer

Tom Straw and John Valeri
Tom Straw published his first mystery, The Trigger Episode, in 2007 and then authored seven crime...
Review: <i>The Kill Circle</i> by David Freed
Blogs
October 26 2017

Review: The Kill Circle by David Freed

John Valeri
The Kill Circle by David Freed is the sixth offering in the Cordell Logan series, a...
<i>The Vanishing Season</i> by Joanna Schaffhausen: A Visual Guide
Blogs
October 25 2017

The Vanishing Season by Joanna Schaffhausen: A Visual Guide

Adam Wagner
GIFnotes: Giving you the basic plot summary of an upcoming book with the help of the Graphics Interchange Format. Winner...
Cover Reveal: <i>Caged</i> by Ellison Cooper
Blogs
October 25 2017

Cover Reveal: Caged by Ellison Cooper

Crime HQ
Caged by Ellison Cooper is a gripping thriller debut for fans of Kathy Reichs, Thomas Harris,...
Q&A with Michelle Adams, Author of <i>If You Knew My Sister</i>
Blogs
October 24 2017

Q&A with Michelle Adams, Author of If You Knew My Sister

Crime HQ and Michelle Adams
Michelle Adams is a British writer and part-time scientist whose love of writing has produced...
Review: <i>Her Last Day</i> by T.R. Ragan
Blogs
October 24 2017

Review: Her Last Day by T.R. Ragan

Kristin Centorcelli
Her Last Day by T.R. Ragan is the first book in a new series about PI Jessie Cole (available...
Review: <i>Mind Game</i> by Iris Johansen
Blogs
October 24 2017

Review: Mind Game by Iris Johansen

Janet Webb
Mind Game by Iris Johansen is the 22nd book in the Eve Duncan series and a propulsive thriller that’s...
Watch the Final Trailer for Marvel’s <i>The Punisher</i>
Blogs
October 23 2017

Watch the Final Trailer for Marvel’s The Punisher

Crime HQ
Frank Castle squared off against Matt Murdock in the excellent Daredevil Season 2, exacting his...
<i>The Walking Dead</i> Power Rankings 8.01: “Mercy”
Blogs
October 23 2017

The Walking Dead Power Rankings 8.01: “Mercy”

Adam Wagner, Joe Brosnan and Pritpaul Bains
The last season of The Walking Dead gave us one of the better opening episodes of any season...