detective: All Posts | default | Original Stories | Excerpts | Blogs

The investigation itself takes center stage, whether driven by cops working the beat, agents within a task force, or licensed P.I.s.

Review: <i>Turn on the Heat</i> by Erle Stanley Gardner
Blogs
November 13 2017

Review: Turn on the Heat by Erle Stanley Gardner

Kristin Centorcelli
Turn on the Heat by Erle Stanley Gardner is considered one of the best Cool and Lam novels in...
Book-Inspired Cocktails: “A Season for Rye”
Blogs
November 10 2017

Book-Inspired Cocktails: “A Season for Rye”

Adam Wagner
What do you do when you're investigating a killer in the dead of winter? Warm up with...
Beautifully Crafted Leather-Bound Copy of <i>Murder on the Orient Express</i>
Blogs
November 10 2017

Beautifully Crafted Leather-Bound Copy of Murder on the Orient Express

Crime HQ
Murder on the Orient Express and Other Hercule Poirot Mysteries is a beautifully crafted, leather-bound,...
Review: <i>Trespass</i> by Anthony Quinn
Blogs
November 8 2017

Review: Trespass by Anthony Quinn

Kristin Centorcelli
Trespass by Anthony Quinn is the fourth book in the Inspector Celsius Daly series, catapulting...
5 New Books to Read this Week: November 7, 2017
Blogs
November 8 2017

5 New Books to Read this Week: November 7, 2017

Crime HQ
Every Wednesday, we here at Criminal Element will put together a list of Staff Picks of the books...
Review: <i>Every Breath You Take</i> by Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke
Blogs
November 7 2017

Review: Every Breath You Take by Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke

John Valeri
Every Breath You Take by Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke follows television producer’s...
Review: <i>Bonfire</i> by Krysten Ritter
Blogs
November 6 2017

Review: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Ardi Alspach
Bonfire by Krysten Ritter is a gripping, tightly wound suspense novel about a woman forced to confront...
Emily Littlejohn Excerpt: <i>A Season to Lie</i>
Excerpts
November 6 2017

Emily Littlejohn Excerpt: A Season to Lie

Emily Littlejohn
A Season to Lie by Emily Littlejohn is the second Detective Gemma Monroe novel, where a twisted killer...
Discount: <i>How the Light Gets In</i> by Louise Penny
Blogs
November 2 2017

Discount: How the Light Gets In by Louise Penny

Crime HQ
One of Publishers Weekly's Best Mystery/Thriller Books of 2013, one of The Washington Post's...
5 New Police Procedurals to Heat Up Your Winter
Blogs
November 2 2017

5 New Police Procedurals to Heat Up Your Winter

Carrie Smith
Read Carrie Smith's exclusive guest post about her 5 favorite upcoming police procedurals,...
5 New Books to Read this Week: October 31, 2017
Blogs
November 1 2017

5 New Books to Read this Week: October 31, 2017

Crime HQ
Every Wednesday, we here at Criminal Element will put together a list of Staff Picks of the books...
Review: <i>Buzz Killer</i> by Tom Straw
Blogs
October 31 2017

Review: Buzz Killer by Tom Straw

John Valeri
Buzz Killer by Tom Straw is the first in a prospective new series featuring NYC Public Defender...
Mark Frost Excerpt: <i>Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier</i>
Excerpts
October 31 2017

Mark Frost Excerpt: Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier

Mark Frost
Twin Peaks: The Final Dossier by Mark Frost is the crucial sequel to the New York Times bestselling...
Crime/Mystery/Thrillers Coming to (and Leaving) Netflix in November 2017
Blogs
October 30 2017

Crime/Mystery/Thrillers Coming to (and Leaving) Netflix in November 2017

Crime HQ
Highlighted by the highly anticipated final season of Longmire and the long-awaited Punisher...
<i>The Deuce</i> Season Finale, 1.08: “My Name Is Ruby” Episode Review
Blogs
October 30 2017

The Deuce Season Finale, 1.08: “My Name Is Ruby” Episode Review

Thomas Pluck
Take what comes. But show no ambition. Sandra learns that corruption and power are perpetual...
Q&A with Tom Straw, Author of <i>Buzz Killer</i>
Blogs
October 26 2017

Q&A with Tom Straw, Author of Buzz Killer

Tom Straw and John Valeri
Tom Straw published his first mystery, The Trigger Episode, in 2007 and then authored seven crime...
Review: <i>Dying to Live</i> by Michael Stanley
Blogs
October 26 2017

Review: Dying to Live by Michael Stanley

Doreen Sheridan
Dying to Live by Michael Stanley is the sixth crime novel to feature the humble and endearing...
Review: <i>The Kill Circle</i> by David Freed
Blogs
October 26 2017

Review: The Kill Circle by David Freed

John Valeri
The Kill Circle by David Freed is the sixth offering in the Cordell Logan series, a...
Cover Reveal: <i>Caged</i> by Ellison Cooper
Blogs
October 25 2017

Cover Reveal: Caged by Ellison Cooper

Crime HQ
Caged by Ellison Cooper is a gripping thriller debut for fans of Kathy Reichs, Thomas Harris,...
Review: <i>Her Last Day</i> by T.R. Ragan
Blogs
October 24 2017

Review: Her Last Day by T.R. Ragan

Kristin Centorcelli
Her Last Day by T.R. Ragan is the first book in a new series about PI Jessie Cole (available...
Review: <i>Mind Game</i> by Iris Johansen
Blogs
October 24 2017

Review: Mind Game by Iris Johansen

Janet Webb
Mind Game by Iris Johansen is the 22nd book in the Eve Duncan series and a propulsive thriller that’s...
5 Reasons I Love <i>Mindhunter</i>
Blogs
October 23 2017

5 Reasons I Love Mindhunter

Ellison Cooper
When I saw the teaser for the new Netflix show Mindhunter, I was skeptical of yet another televised...
<i>The Deuce</i> 1.07: “Au Reservoir” Episode Review
Blogs
October 23 2017

The Deuce 1.07: “Au Reservoir” Episode Review

Thomas Pluck
Well, I am a degenerate. I can be a nitpicky viewer, and last time I pointed out the lack...
Michael Stanley Excerpt: <i>Dying to Live</i>
Excerpts
October 19 2017

Michael Stanley Excerpt: Dying to Live

Michael Stanley
Dying to Live by Michael Stanley is the sixth crime novel to feature the humble and endearing...
5 New Books to Read this Week: October 17, 2017
Blogs
October 18 2017

5 New Books to Read this Week: October 17, 2017

Crime HQ
Every Wednesday, we here at Criminal Element will put together a list of Staff Picks of the books...
Review: <i>Deep Freeze</i> by John Sandford
Blogs
October 17 2017

Review: Deep Freeze by John Sandford

Doreen Sheridan
Deep Freeze by John Sandford is the 10th book in the Virgil Flowers series, where Virgil finds...
Iris Johansen Excerpt: <i>Mind Game</i>
Excerpts
October 17 2017

Iris Johansen Excerpt: Mind Game

Iris Johansen
Mind Game by Iris Johansen is the 22nd book in the Eve Duncan series and a propulsive thriller that’s...
Review: <i>Killing Season</i> by Faye Kellerman
Blogs
October 16 2017

Review: Killing Season by Faye Kellerman

John Valeri
Killing Season by Faye Kellerman is an electrifying novel of suspense in which a young man'’s...
<i>The Deuce</i> 1.06: “Why Me?” Episode Review
Blogs
October 16 2017

The Deuce 1.06: “Why Me?” Episode Review

Thomas Pluck
After last week’s emotional high point, you have to expect a low, and this is an enjoyable...
“Close Enough” by Shannon Baker
Original Stories
October 12 2017

“Close Enough” by Shannon Baker

Shannon Baker
“Close Enough” is a thrilling Kate Fox short story from author Shannon Baker that bridges...