Awards Extravanganza!: Rounding Up 2012’s Anthony, Barry, Dilys, Macavity, and Shamus!

Rounding up Anthony, Barry, Dilys, Macavity, and Shamus Awards from 2012 BoucherconOne reason the annual crime conference Bouchercon’s a big deal is because it gathers enough of our kind of people in one place that deals can be discussed, personal meetings can be had, friendships can be made, and awards can be given! As usual, there were 5 different sets of crime awards given during the conference this year. Here’s a round-up of the winners!


A Trick of the light by Louise PennyThe Anthony Awards, given in honor of Anthony Boucher (BOW-cher), for whom Bouchercon is named. Voted by conference attendees.

  • Best Novel: A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny
  • Best First Novel: Learning to Swim by Sara J. Henry
  • Best Paperback Original: Buffalo West Wing by Julie Hyzy
  • Best Short Story: “Disarming” by Dana Cameron (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, June 2011.)


The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-OlsenThe Barry Awards, given by Deadly Pleasures Magazine. Named in honor of fan reviewer Barry Gardner.

  • Best Novel: The Keeper of Lost Causes (aka Mercy) by Jussi Adler-Olsen
  • Best First Novel: The Informationist by Taylor Stevens
  • Best British Novel: Dead Man’s Grip by Peter James
  • Best Paperback Original: Death of the Mantis by Michael Stanley
  • Best Thriller: The Informant by Thomas Perry
  • Best Short Story: “The Gun Also Rises” by Jeffrey Cohen (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, January-February 2011)


Ghost Hero by S.J. RozanThe Dilys Award, given annually by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association for the mystery title “which the member booksellers have most enjoyed selling.”

  • Winner: Ghost Hero by S.J. Rozan






Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead by Sara GranThe Macavity Awards, given by Mystery Readers International, nominated and voted by its members and the subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal.

  • Best Mystery Novel: Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead by Sara Gran
  • Best First Mystery Novel: All Cry Chaos by Leonard Rosen
  • Best Mystery Related Non-Fiction: The Sookie Stackhouse Companion edited by Charlaine Harris
  • Best Mystery Short Story: “Disarming” by Dana Cameron (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, June 2011)
  • Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery: Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains by Catriona McPherson


 A Bad Night’s Sleep by Michael WileyThe Shamus Awards, given by the Private Eye Writers of America for excellence in the Private Eye genre.

  • Best PI Hardcover: A Bad Night’s Sleep by Michael Wiley
  • Best First PI Novel: The Shortcut Man by P.G. Sturges
  • Best PI Paperback Original: Fun & Games by Duane Swierczynski
  • Best PI Short Story: “Who I Am” by Michael Z. Lewin (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, December 2011)


Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!


  1. Stan Ulrich

    A footnote on the Dilys Award. This was announced at Left Coast Crime 2012 in Sacramento in March, as is the custom. Since S.J. Rozan wasn’t in attendance in Sacramento, it was decided to give it again at Bouchercon.

Comments are closed.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.