Book-Inspired Cocktails: “The Witches’ Tea”

Agatha Raisin is back! Celebrate with this week's Pick Your Poison—where we create a cocktail inspired by a recently published mystery, thriller, or crime novel—“The Witches' Tea” cocktail, inspired by M. C. Beaton's 28th Agatha Raisin Mystery, The Witches' Tree!

The Witches Tree by M. C. Beaton
The Witches Tree by M. C. Beaton
The Witches' Tree by M. C. Beaton is the 28th book in the Agatha Raisin series (available October 3, 2017).

Cotswolds inhabitants are used to inclement weather, but the night sky is especially foggy as Rory and Molly Devere, the new vicar, and his wife, drive slowly home from a dinner party in their village of Sumpton Harcourt. They strain to see the road ahead—and then suddenly brake, screeching to a halt. Right in front of them, aglow in the headlights, a body hangs from a gnarled tree at the edge of town. Margaret Darby, an elderly spinster, has been murdered—and the villagers are bewildered as to who would commit such a crime.

Agatha Raisin rises to the occasion (a little glad for the excitement, to tell the truth, after a long run of lost cats and divorces on the books). But Sumpton Harcourt is a small and private village, she finds—a place that poses more questions than answers. And when two more murders follow the first, Agatha begins to fear for her reputation—and even her life. That the village has its own coven of witches certainly doesn't make her feel any better…

Read an excerpt from The Witches' Tree!


“The Witches' Tea”


– 2 oz. Canadian whisky
– 1 oz. peach schnapps
– 4 oz. iced tea
– lemon wedge (garnish)

How to make the cocktail:

  1. Fill a highball glass with ice.
  2. Add whisky, schnapps, and tea.
  3. Stir lightly to mix.
  4. Garnish with a lemon wedge.

So have a few “Witches' Tea” cocktails, and don't forget to order your copy of M. C. Beaton's The Witches' Tree today!

Take a visual tour of The Witches' Tree with GIFnotes!


To learn more or order a copy, visit:

Buy at iTunes

Buy at Barnes and NobleBuy at Amazon



M. C. Beaton, who was the British guest of honor at Bouchercon 2006, has been hailed as the “Queen of Crime” (The Globe and Mail). In addition to her New York Times and USA Today bestselling Agatha Raisin novels, Beaton is the author of the Hamish Macbeth series and four Edwardian mysteries. Born in Scotland, she currently divides her time between the English Cotswolds and Paris.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.