Announcing the 2017 Macavity Awards Nominees

The Mystery Readers International have announced the nominees for the 2017 Macavity Awards. The Macavity Award—named for the “mystery cat” of T. S. Eliot's Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats—is an annual award celebrating the year's best in the mystery genre. 

Best Novel

You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott
Dark Fissures by Matt Coyle
Before the Fall by Noah Hawley
Real Tigers by Mick Herron
Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman
A Great Reckoning by Louise Penny

Best First Novel

The Widow by Fiona Barton
Under the Harrow by Flynn Berry
Dodgers by Bill Beverly
IQ by Joe Ide
Design for Dying by Renee Patrick

Best Short Story

“Autumn at the Automat” by Lawrence Block (In Sunlight or in Shadow)
“Blank Shot” by Craig Faustus Buck (Black Coffee)
“Survivor’s Guilt” by Greg Herren (Blood on the Bayou: Bouchercon Anthology 2016)
“Ghosts of Bunker Hill” by Paul D. Marks (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Dec. 2016)
“The Crawl Space” by Joyce Carol Oates (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Sept.-Oct. 2016)
“Parallel Play” by Art Taylor (Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Novel

A Death Along the River Fleet by Susanna Calkins
Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye
Delivering The Truth by Edith Maxwell
The Reek of Red Herrings by Catriona McPherson
What Gold Buys by Ann Parker
Heart of Stone by James W. Ziskin

Best Nonfiction:

Mastering Suspense, Structure, and Plot: How to Write Gripping Stories that Keep Readers on the Edge of Their Seats by Jane K. Cleland
Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin
Sara Paretsky: A Companion to the Mystery Fiction by Margaret Kinsman
Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula by David J. Skal
The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer by Kate Summerscale

Congratulations to all the nominees & good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *