Announcing 2018’s Edgar Award Nominees

The Mystery Writers of America have announced the 2018 Edgar Award nominees and special winners. The Edgars banquet—an annual black-tie gala celebrating crime fiction, non-fiction, and television writing—will be held on Thursday, April 26th, 2018, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. As always, it's a fantastic list of great work that deserves to be checked out! What have you read already?

*Follow the links for more coverage!

Best Novel

– The Dime by Kathleen Kent
Prussian Blue by Philip Kerr
Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke
A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee
The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti

Best First Novel by an American Author

She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper
Dark Chapter by Winnie M. Li
Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love
Tornado Weather by Deborah E. Kennedy
Idaho by Emily Ruskovich

Best Paperback Original

In Farleigh Field by Rhys Bowen
Ragged Lake by Ron Corbett
Black Fall by Andrew Mayne
The Unseeing by Anna Mazzola
Penance by Kanae Minato
The Rules of Backyard Cricket by Jock Serong

Best Fact Crime

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann
The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple by Jeff Guinn
American Fire: Love, Arson, and Life in a Vanishing Land by Monica Hesse
The Man From the Train: The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery by Bill James and Rachel McCarthy James
Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca

Best Critical/Biographical

From Holmes to Sherlock: The Story of the Men and Women who Created an Icon by Mattias Bostrom
Manderley Forever: A Biography of Daphne du Maurier by Tatiana de Rosnay
Murder in the Closet: Essays on Queer Clues in Crime Fiction Before Stonewall by Curtis Evans
Chester B. Himes: A Biography by Lawrence P. Jackson
Arthur and Sherlock: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes by Michael Sims

Best Short Story

“Spring Break” – New Haven Noir by John Crowley
“Hard to Get” – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Jeffery Deaver
“Ace in the Hole” – Montana Noir by Eric Heidle
“A Moment of Clarity at the Waffle House” – Atlanta Noir by Kenji Jasper
“Chin Yong-Yun Stays at Home” – Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine by S.J. Rozan

Best Juvenile

Audacity Jones Steals the Show by Kirby Larson
Vanished! by James Ponti
The Assassin’s Curse by Kevin Sands
First Class Murder by Robin Stevens
NewsPrints by Ru Xu

Best Young Adult

The Cruelty by Scott Bergstrom
Grit by Gillian French
The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak
Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Best Television Episode Teleplay

“Episode 1” – The Loch, Teleplay by Stephen Brady (Acorn TV)
“Something Happened” – Law and Order: SVU, Teleplay by Michael Chernuchin (NBC Universal/Wolf Entertainment)
“Somebody to Love” – Fargo, Teleplay by Noah Hawley (FX Networks/MGM)
“Gently and the New Age” – George Gently, Teleplay by Robert Murphy (Acorn TV)
“The Blanket Mire” – Vera, Teleplay by Paul Matthew Thompson & Martha Hillier (Acorn TV)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award

“The Queen of Secrets” – New Haven Noir by Lisa D. Gray

Grand Master

Jane Langton
William Link
Peter Lovesey

Raven Award

Kristopher Zgorski, BOLO Books
The Raven Bookstore, Lawrence,— Kansas

Ellery Queen Award

Robert Pépin

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award

The Vineyard Victims by Ellen Crosby
You’ll Never Know Dear by Hallie Ephron
The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman
Uncorking a Lie by Nadine Nettmann
– The Day I Died by Lori Rader-Day

Congratulations to all the nominees—good luck!