2014’s Agatha Award Winners Announced

Hank Phillippi Ryan, author of The Wrong Woman, with her Best Contemporary Novel Agatha AwardAsk the winning authors to make you some tea—they've got the gear! This weekend, during the Malice Domestic convention in Maryland, the winners of this year's Agatha Awards were announced.

(Shhh- This pic of a beaming Hank Phillippi Ryan and her award comes via our flat-out theft from the Tweetstream of @JSpencerFleming, a sister nominee.)






Best Historical Novel: A Question of Honor by Charles Todd

Best Children's/YA: Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabenstein

Best Contemporary Novel: The Wrong Girl by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best Nonfiction: The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before The Civil War by Daniel Stashower

Best First Novel: Death Al Dente by Leslie Budewitz

Best Short Story: “The Care and Feeding of House Plants” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine by Art Taylor


To clarify any confusion on dates, these awards are given in 2014—we typically discuss them this way so you know they're the latest, red-hot news—but they're granted for works published during the previous year, so the award says 2013. Check here to see all the terrific nominees, and congratulations to the winners!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.