<i>Flash Points</i>: Excerpt Flash Points: Excerpt David Hagberg The 22nd book in the Kirk McGarvey series. Review: <i>The Broken Girls</i> by Simone St. James Review: The Broken Girls by Simone St. James Angie Barry Read Angie Barry's review! Review: <i>Death by Dumpling</i> by Vivien Chien Review: Death by Dumpling by Vivien Chien Doreen Sheridan Read Doreen Sheridan's review! Review: <i>Second Story Man</i> by Charles Salzberg Review: Second Story Man by Charles Salzberg Thomas Pluck Read Thomas Pluck's review!
From The Blog
March 19, 2018
Q&A with Christi Daugherty, Author of The Echo Killing
Christi Daugherty and Crime HQ
March 16, 2018
Like Stealing Candy from... "Gumball Bandit" Steals Large Gumball Machine from Sacramento Animal Shelter
Adam Wagner
March 13, 2018
Q&A with Sebastian Rotella, Author of Rip Crew
Sebastian Rotella and John Valeri
March 9, 2018
Murder and Mayhem in Chicago
Lori Rader-Day and Dana Kaye
March 9, 2018
Robbery with a Chance of Meatballs: Man Steals Meatballs & Gets Caught Red-Handed
Adam Wagner
Showing posts by: Gabino Iglesias click to see Gabino Iglesias's profile
Mar 8 2018 1:00pm

Review: The Feed by Nick Clark Windo

The Feed by Nick Clark Windo is set in a unique and vividly imagined post-apocalyptic world—a startling and timely debut that explores what it is to be human and what it truly means to be connected in the digital age (available March 13, 2018).

The one thing science fiction is dealing with better than any other genre right now is technological advances. The genre has always “lived” in the future, and now that the future is here, authors are pushing things further, exploring new possibilities, and walking a fine line between pure imagination and plausibility. Nick Clark Windo’s The Feed mixes the internet’s ubiquity with a post-apocalyptic scenario and a lot of emotion to create a hybrid novel that walks the line between an adventure narrative, a horror story, and a classic science fiction tale. 

The Feed used to be accessible everywhere and at any time. It was inside the brain of most people and thus almost inescapable. The instant access to everything was addicting, and people started using it for everything. Every conversation, every memory, every moment at work, and every second dedicated to leisure was intricately tied to the Feed. Tom—whose father created the Feed—and Kate were no different, although Tom fought against the addiction and liked to have moments unplugged from it.

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of The Feed...]

Feb 6 2018 4:00pm

Review: The Storm King by Brendan Duffy

The Storm King by Brendan Duffy follows a young doctor, haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, who returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, gripping novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben (available February 6, 2018).

Brendan Duffy’s The Storm King is one of those novels that inhabits the interstitial space between thrillers and literary fiction. The story is packed with the elements of a mystery/thriller, but the writing is prone to explosions of elegance and poetry. The latter sometimes takes over and affects the way the story moves forward—trapped in all that verbiage and description—but Duffy has found a superb balance between the two that allows the story to breathe; the literary elements only seep into the dialogue occasionally, allowing it to remain believable.

Nate McHale is a respected pediatric oncological surgeon living in New York City. He has a beautiful wife and a lovely young girl at home to make his life round and, some would say, almost perfect. However, his current state has nothing in common with his roots, which lie tangled in darkness, pain, loss, and destruction back in his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake.

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of The Storm King...]

Feb 5 2018 4:00pm

Review: The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch

The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch is a science fiction thriller of spellbinding tension and staggering scope that follows a special agent into a savage murder case with grave implications for the fate of mankind (available February 6, 2018).

Tom Sweterlitsch’s The Gone World is a brave, cerebral thriller that mixes elements from a plethora of genres while keeping classic themes of love, fear, and survival at its core. At once a science fiction narrative, a tech-heavy thriller, a love story, and an apocalyptic horror story packed with murder and mayhem, this novel offers something for everyone and does so while never being bogged down by the inevitable difficulties inherent in time-travel narratives.

Shannon Moss works in a secret division inside the Naval Criminal Investigative Service. Whenever a crime involving the Navy is committed, she is called into action. So when the family of a missing Navy SEAL is brutally murdered and the SEAL's daughter disappears—just like the father—all in a house in Pennsylvania where Shannon used to spend a lot of time in as a kid, she is pulled into the investigation.

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of The Gone World...]

Jan 11 2018 2:00pm

Review: The Chalk Man by C. J. Tudor

The Chalk Man by C. J. Tudor is a riveting and relentlessly compelling psychological suspense debut that weaves a mystery about a childhood game gone dangerously awry and keeps readers guessing right up to the shocking ending.

Author C. J. Tudor is a student of thrillers that boldly venture into the realm of horror fiction, and her writing reflects the fact that she’s learned all the important lessons. In The Chalk Man, her impressive debut, she plays around with a plethora of tropes and eventually delivers a finale that makes her first novel feel more like the work of a seasoned author than a first offering. Perhaps more impressive than her playfulness is the absolute dominion of every element in the last third of the novel, which is something few authors could have pulled off in a narrative that includes incursions into the world of dreams, a story that takes place in two different time periods, and plenty of mental illness.

Back in 1986, Eddie Adams was a regular 12-year-old kid who enjoyed vacations, going to the park, collecting things, and spending as much time as possible with his friends, Hoppo, Metal Mickey, Fat Gave, and Nicky. They all lived in a small, unexciting English village, and any bit of excitement was welcome. Their lives were slowly changing with every step further into adolescence, but they were suddenly thrown into a world of chaos when they found a dismembered body in the woods by following chalk figures left on trees, which eerily resembled their own way of communicating with each other.

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of The Chalk Man...]

Aug 25 2017 1:00pm

Review: A Thousand Cuts by Thomas Mogford

A Thousand Cuts by Thomas Mogford is the fourth Spike Sanguinetti novel, where a fatal explosion in the past and a series of brutal murders in the present question whether justice is being served for betrayals long hidden.

A Thousand Cuts, the fourth entry in Thomas Mogford’s Spike Sanguinetti series, offers readers a nuanced, multilayered narrative that shifts constantly while somehow retaining an overall balance between its elements. Coming in at a little over 350 pages, A Thousand Cuts is a satisfying read that offers something for fans of legal thrillers, history buffs, straight crime lovers, and mysteries. 

Back in 1940, a bomb went off in Gibraltar, killing two British soldiers who were patrolling the dockyards that night. After a short investigation, a Spaniard was executed for the crime. Although the man spent time with the wrong crowd, he claimed to be innocent until his execution.

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of A Thousand Cuts...]

Aug 18 2017 2:00pm

Review: Darkansas by Jarret Middleton

Darkansas by Jarret Middleton is a dark, compelling novel of country noir about a family with a secret past and a curse several generations old.

Rural or country noir can be one of the most heartfelt and entertaining crime subgenres when done by capable authors such as Daniel Woodrell and David Joy. Now, Jarret Middleton’s extraordinary new novel, Darkansas, has placed its author in that distinguished group. Dark, bizarre, and steeped in the culture of the Ozarks, Darkansas is a hybrid narrative that inhabits the interstitial space between crime, horror, literary fiction, and mystery. 

Jordan Bayne is an ex-con eking out a life working as a musician and living in a small, filthy room in San Antonio, Texas. He is a haunted man who’s constantly in trouble and always on the run, sometimes from things he can’t put his finger on. He’s also condemned to live in the shadow of his brother, Malcolm, who works in the insurance business and has never been in trouble, and his father, Walker, a man who’s a legend in the music business. When Malcolm comes back home to the Ozarks to get married, the two brothers and their father are thrown into a maelstrom of repressed emotions and dark family history that threatens to not only derail the festivities but also end in death.

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of Darkansas...]

Aug 13 2017 1:00pm

Review: Cold Snap by Allison Brennan

Cold Snap by Allison Brennan is the seventh Lucy Kincaid novel, where the Kincaid Family Christmas Reunion is threatened by murder.

I’m usually wary of novels that kick things off with forewords that explain a bit of what’s to follow and who’s involved. In the case of Allison Brennan’s Cold Snap, the foreword even gave an update on the lives of a dozen characters in the author’s Lucy Kincaid series. A few chapters later, I was glad for said foreword.

Brennan’s Kincaid series is a long, deep slice of police procedural fiction, and while those not familiar with the series can enjoy random novels from it, it’s better to approach the texts with some inkling of what’s happening and who the key players in the narrative are. While previous knowledge of the main character’s history, adventures, and motivations certainly enriches the reading experience, the series does not demand reading previous book in order to enjoy any of its novels. 

[Read Gabino Iglesias's review of Cold Snap...]