2017 Edgar Award Winners

Last night, the Mystery Writers of America presented the 71st annual Edgar Allan Poe Awards at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. Celebrating the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, and television published or produced in 2016, the yearly event gathers a veritable who's who in the genre. Below is a list of all of this year's winners.

*Click on the linked titles for reviews!

Best Novel

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

Best First Novel by an American Author

Under the Harrow by Flynn Berry

Best Paperback Original

Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty

Best Fact Crime

The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer by Kate Summerscale

Best Critical/Biographical 

Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin 

Best Short Story

“Autumn at the Automat” by Lawrence Block from In Sunlight or in Shadow

Best Juvenile

OCDaniel by Wesley King 

Best Young Adult

Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse 

Best Television Episode Teleplay

”A Blade of Grass“ – Teleplay by John Logan, Penny Dreadful

 Robert L. Fish Memorial Award 

”The Truth of the Moment” – by E. Gabriel FloresEllery Queen Mystery Magazine

Grand Master

Max Allan Collins

Ellen Hart

Raven Award

Dru Ann Love

Ellery Queen Award

Neil Nyren

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award

The Shattered Tree by Charles Todd

Thanks to all that attended, and congratulations to all of the winners!


  1. eddie cassani

    RAIN DOGS, A page-turning thriller packed with suspence,You’ll start reading and you won’t be able to stop menacing and moving.Then read The Cold Cold Ground it is the the best crime Novel of the Year if not the Century Sean Duffy is the best crime series.long live the King of Crime Arian McKINTY
    E Cassani

Comments are closed.