2017 Agatha Award Winners

Saturday night, Malice Domestic presented the 29th annual Agatha Awards at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Bethesda, Maryland. The Agatha Awards honor the traditional mystery, a genre loosely defined as mysteries that contain no explicit sex or excessive gore/gratuitous violence. Newcomers and veterans in the genre gathered to celebrate the best of the best of 2016. Below is a list of all of this year's winners.

*Click on the linked titles for reviews!

Best Contemporary Novel

A Great Reckoning by Louise Penny

Best First Novel

The Semester of Our Discontent by Cynthia Kuhn

Best Historical Novel

The Reek of Red Herrings by Catriona McPherson

Best Nonfiction

Mastering Suspense, Structure, and Plot: How to Write Gripping Stories that Keep Readers on the Edge of Their Seats by Jane K. Cleland

Best Short Story

“Parallel Play” by Art Taylor in Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning

Best Children/Young Adult

The Secret of the Puzzle Box: The Code Busters Club by Penny Warner

Thanks to all that attended, and congratulations to all of the winners!