2016 Edgar Awards Reviews

The Edgar Award, in honor of the great Edgar Allan Poe, is presented by The Mystery Writers of America to the best in mystery fiction & nonfiction that was produced during the previous year. 

Here at Criminal Element, we'll be covering the Edgars during the entire month of April, leading up to the awards ceremony on April 28th.

Below is a handy table of all of the nominees for “Best Novel” and “Best First Novel” (including 1 nominee for “Best Fact Crime” that a blogger of ours just couldn't pass up!) to serve as an Edgars HQ that we will update with links as our reviews go live. 

So, stay tuned and keep checking back as we begin our coverage on Monday, April 4th, with a review of Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm!


Best Novel
Title   Author   Publisher
The Strangler Vine   M.J. Carter   Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam's Sons
The Lady from Zagreb   Philip Kerr   Penguin Random House – A Marian Wood Book
Life or Death   Michael Robotham   Hachette Book Group – Mulholland Books
Let Me Die in His Footsteps   Lori Roy   Penguin Random House – Dutton
Canary   Duane Swierczynski   Hachette Book Group – Mulholland Books
Night Life   David C. Taylor   Forge Books
Best First Novel
Title   Author   Publisher
Past Crimes   Glen Erik Hamilton   HarperCollins Publishers – William Morrow
Where All Light Tends to Go   David Joy   Penguin Random House – G.P. Putnam's Sons
Luckiest Girl Alive   Jessica Knoll   Simon & Schuster
The Sympathizer   Viet Thanh Nguyen   Grove Atlantic – Grove Press
Unbecoming   Rebecca Scherm   Penguin Random House – Viking
Best Fact Crime
Title   Author   Publisher
Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA and More Tell Us About Crime   Val McDermid   Grove Atlantic – Grove Press


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.