2014 Derringer Award Winners Announced

The 2014 Derringer Award winners have been announced by the Short Mystery Fiction Society, and congratulations to all of them! (Winning Title is in bold.)




For Best Flash (Up to 1,000 words):

“Luck is What You Make” by Stephen D. Rogers

“Final Statement” by Robert Bailey

“Not My Day” by Stephen Buehler

“The Needle and the Spoon” by Allan Leverone

“Terry Tenderloin and the Pig Thief” by John Weagly


For Best Short Story (1,001–4,000 words):

“The Present” by Robert Lopresti

“Pretty Little Things” by Chris F. Holm 

“The Sweetheart Scamster” by Rosemary McCracken

“The Little Outlaw” by Mike Miner

“The Cemetery Man” by Bill Pronzini


For Best Long Story (4,001–8,000 words):

“GIVE ME A DOLLAR” by Ray Daniel

“Myrna!” by John Bubar 

“Bloody Signorina” by Joseph D'Agnese 

“Dance Man” by Andrew Jetarski

“A Dangerous Life” by Adam Purple


For Best Novelette (8,001–20,000 words):

“The Goddaughter's Revenge” by Melodie Campbell

“The Serpent Beneath the Flower” by Jack Bates

“For Love's Sake” by O'Neil De Noux

“The Antiquary's Wife” by William Burton McCormick

“Last Night in Cannes” by James L. Ross



Ed Gorman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *