2013’s Dilys and Derringer Award Winners

As you know, it's award season, but we've gotten criminally behind in our reporting, so here's a double-dose of winning fiction!

From the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association: “The Dilys Award has been given annually since 1992 by IMBA to the mystery titles of the year which the member booksellers have most enjoyed hand selling. The Dilys Award is named in honor of Dilys Winn, the founder of the first specialty bookseller of mystery books in the United States.” Here are the nominees and winner (in bold), who was announced during Left Coast Crime:

  • Grandad, There's a Head on the Beach by Colin Cotterill
  • Broken Harbor by Tana French
  • Mr. Churchill's Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal
  • The Expats by Chris Pavone
  • Before the Poison by Peter Robinson


From the SMFS: “Established in 1996, the Short Mystery Fiction Society welcomes writers, editors, publishers, and readers. Our discussion, publicity efforts, and annual Derringer Awards promote the creation, publication, and appreciation of short mystery and crime fiction.” Winning stories in bold.

Best Flash Story (Up to 1,000 words):

  • “An Old-Fashioned Villain” by Nick Andreychuk (Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine, May 2012)
  • “The Cable Job” by Randy DeWitt (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, September 2012)
  • “Dead Man” by A.J. Hayes (Off The Record 2: At The Movies, September 2012)
  • “Daddy's Girl” by Nicola Kennington (The Flash Fiction Offensive, July 22, 2012)
  • “Twas the Knife Before Christmas” by Allan Leverone (Shotgun Honey, December 24, 2012)

Best Short Story (1,001 – 4,000 words):

  • “Getting Out of the Box” by Michael Bracken (Crime Square, Vantage Point, 2012)
  • “A Special Kind of Hell” by Hilary Davidson (BEAT to a PULP: Round Two, May 2012)
  • “Dead Weight” by Allan Leverone (Burning Bridges: A Renegade Fiction Anthology, April 2012)
  • “Nain Rouge” by Barbara Nadel (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, August 2012)
  • “Baby Boy” by Todd Robinson (Protectors: Stories to Benefit PROTECT, September 2012)


Best Long Story (4,001 – 8,000 words):

  • “The Pot Hunters” by David Hagerty (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, June 2012)
  • “A Regular Story” by Peggy McFarland (Best New England Crime Stories 2013: Blood Moon, Level Best Books, November 2012)
  • “Peaches” by Todd Robinson (Grift #1, April 2012)
  • “When Duty Calls” by Art Taylor (Chesapeake Crimes: This Job Is Murder, 2012)
  • “Double Wedding” by Mo Walsh (Best New England Crime Stories 2013: Blood Moon, Level Best Books, November 2012)

Best Novelette (8,001 – 20,000 words):

  • “Wood-Smoke Boys” by Doug Allyn (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, March/April 2012)
  • “Iphigenia in Aulis” by Mike Carey (An Apple for the Creature, September 2012)
  • “Mariel” by David Dean (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, December 2012)
  • “Pirate Dave and the Captain's Ghost” by Toni L.P. Kelner (An Apple for the Creature, September 2012)
  • “The Sunny South” by Chris Muessig (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, March/April 2012)

Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement: Chosen by deliberations of a panel including the SMFS officers, awards coordinator, and representatives of the regular membership:

  • Loren D. Estleman
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.